Use This Setting to Easily Control Windows User Permissions
Windows displays a User Account Control (UAC) prompt whenever you attempt to install or run an existing application as an administrator. If you want additional control over your account's permissions, you can change the settings to disable UAC or make it more strict.
What is UAC?
UAC is a Windows security feature that helps prevent malicious apps from making unwanted changes to your computer.
Since your PC can't tell if the user or an app is making the changes, UAC will require your consent to allow them when an app needs administrative privileges. Understanding how UAC protects your PC from potential threats will help keep your system running securely.
By default, UAC is set to notify you only when apps try to make changes to your computer. However, it offers a range of settings, allowing you to adjust it to your preference, including an option to turn it off completely.
How to Configure UAC Settings
To configure UAC settings, open the Start menu, type user account control, and click to open User Account Control settings. Alternatively, you can access UAC through Control Panel > User Accounts > User Account > Change User Account Control Settings.
The default User Account Control settings is set to Notify me only when apps try to make changes to the computer (default). The default setting is recommended for most users who install apps from trusted sources and visit familiar websites.
However, you can change the settings using the slider on the left. Here are the four UAC options you can choose from:
- Always notify me when: This is the strictest option. Windows will show the UAC prompt with a dimmed desktop environment when you try to install an app on your computer. However, you'll also see a UAC prompt when changing Windows system settings to ensure the application can't make changes without the user's consent.
- Notify me when apps try to make changes to my computer: This is the default option. Windows will ask for your permission when you install applications or try to run an app as an administrator. However, changing most system settings won't trigger the UAC prompt.
- Notify me only when apps try to make changes to my computer (do not dim my desktop): Use this option to disable the dimmed secure desktop for the UAC prompt. The dimmed desktop environment is a security feature that prevents other apps from interfering with the visual appearance of the UAC dialog box. Only use this option if it takes a long time to dim the desktop.
- Never notify me: This option turns off UAC and should only be used when troubleshooting issues with an app or your computer. When set to off, Windows won't notify you when you try to install an app or make changes as the administrator. However, turning off UAC can leave your computer vulnerable to unauthorized changes, so it's important to use this option with caution.
While UAC enhances your system's security, you can take additional steps to protect your computer. Use a strong PIN or password to block unauthorized access, only install applications from trusted sources, preferably the Windows Store and official developer website, and ensure your system has the latest Windows security updates as they become available.
Chicago
Track Your Order


0