Call Us Free 773-759-7945
user heart cart0
order Free Shipping on Orders Over $100

How to Reset Network Settings on a Mac

Forget a network from Wi-Fi settings or delete network files

What to Know

  • Wi-Fi icon > your Wi-Fi name > Details > Forget This Network > Remove > re-add your connection settings.
  • Or: /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ > Go > delete select files.
  • Macs don’t have an option called Reset Network Settings, though the steps above perform the same function.

This article will walk you through the steps for how to reset network settings on a Mac. Unlike resetting network settings on an iPhone or Windows 10 computer, there’s no specific function on Macs for refreshing internet and wireless connection preferences, but it can still be done via the two methods shown below.

How Do You Reset Network Settings in macOS?

There are two different ways to reset the network settings on a Mac. The first method is relatively simple and should be tried first if you’re experiencing any connectivity or internet issues.

The second process for resetting your network settings is safe, though it is a bit more complex and only recommended if the first method didn’t work.

Related video: How To Delete 'Other' Files From Mac (Howfinity)

Reset Mac Network Settings: The Easy Way

The first way to reset a Mac’s network settings is to delete your Wi-Fi connection and then add it again. Here’s how to do it.

Note:

Macs running macOS Ventura (13) and earlier will select System Preferences > Network > Wi-Fi connection > - (Minus) sign > Apply.

 

Click the Wi-Fi icon in menu bar.

Wi-Fi icon in macOS menu bar.© Provided by Lifewire

Choose Wi-Fi Settings.

Note:

You can also get to this area from Apple icon > System Settings > Network > Wi-Fi.

Wi-Fi Settings option from Wi-Fi menu bar in macOS.© Provided by Lifewire

Select Details beside the network to forget.

Details button beside a network connection from Wi-Fi settings in macOS.© Provided by Lifewire

Choose Forget This Network at the bottom left.

Forget This Network option from a connected network in macOS Wi-Fi settings.© Provided by Lifewire

Click Remove to confirm the deletion.

The Remove option when deleting a connected network from Wi-Fi settings in macOS.© Provided by Lifewire

Important:

Make sure that you have your Wi-Fi login information. You will need to re-enter it after the next step.

 

Finally, re-add your Wi-Fi connection from the Wi-Fi menu.

Reset Mac Network Settings: The Complicated Way

If you’re still experiencing connectivity issues or bugs after trying the above tip, it can be worth giving this second method a go. This process essentially deletes certain system files relating to network settings that will then be restored automatically after restarting your Mac.

Click the Wi-Fi internet symbol in the menu bar.

Mac desktop with Wi-Fi symbol highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

Click the switch to turn Wi-Fi off.

Mac desktop with Wi-Fi switch turned on and toggle highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

With Wi-Fi off, click Go.

Mac desktop with Wi-Fi off and Go highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

From the Go menu, click Go to Folder.

Mac Go menu with Go to Folder highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

Type /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ into the text field and Enter.

Mac Go to Field© Provided by Lifewire

Select the following five files:

  • com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
  • com.apple.network.identification.plist or com.apple.network.eapolclient/configuration.plist
  • com.apple.wifi.message-tracer.plist
  • NetworkInterfaces.plist
  • preferences.plist

Important:

Depending on your macOS version, you may not see all of the above files.

Mac network settings with five files highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

Command+click to choose the select files, select Copy, then right-click the desktop and select Paste.

Five Mac files selected and and Paste highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

Right-click the files in their original location and select Move to Trash to delete them.

If prompted to confirm the deletion with a password or an action on your Apple Watch, do so.

Mac selected files with Move to Trash highlighted© Provided by Lifewire

Restart your Mac as usual and turn its Wi-Fi back on. The deleted files should be recreated within their original location, and all your network settings should now be reset.

Mac network settings files in folder© Provided by Lifewire

Note:

If everything is working fine, feel free to delete the copies of the files on your desktop.

What Will Resetting My Network Settings Do?  

When you reset a device’s network settings, you’re deleting all saved preferences and settings relating to internet and wireless functionality.

Doing so is a common strategy for fixing Wi-Fi or other networking glitches preventing a computer, smart device, or video game console from working properly.


Related: 5 Things to Consider Before Buying a Wireless Router

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I reset network settings on an iPhone?

 

To reset network settings on an iPhone, go to your iPhone's Settings app and tap General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset > Reset Network Settings. This action will also reset all your Wi-Fi networks and passwords, as well as prior cellular and VPN settings.

How do I reset network settings on Windows 10?

 

To reset network settings on Windows 10, go to your Windows 10 Start menu and select Settings > Network and Internet > Status. Then, click Network Reset, review the Network Reset information, select Reset now to continue, and follow the prompts.

How do I reset network settings on an Android phone?

While exact instructions may vary according to your Android device, the process will be similar. Go to your Settings app and select System > Reset Options. Tap Reset Wi-Fi, Mobile, & Bluetooth or Reset Network Settings, depending on your Android version.

Leave a comment